National Security and Investment: Mandatory Notification Sectors

Closed 6 Jan 2021

Opened 11 Nov 2020


This consultation sets out the Government's proposed sector definitions for the types of entity that could come under the National Security and Investment Bill's mandatory notification regime and we want to hear your views. 

Why your views matter

The National Security and Investment Bill, introduced to Parliament on 11 November, will provide the Government with updated powers to scrutinise and intervene in investment to protect national security, as well as to provide businesses and investors with the certainty and transparency they need to do business in the UK. The new powers will mandate notification for certain acquisitions in a list of sectors.

The Government will use the responses to refine the definitions so they provide enough clarity to allow parties to self-assess whether they need to notify. The final definitions will be put into secondary legislation, which the Government intends to introduce in time for commencement of the Bill in 2021.



  • SMEs (small and medium businesses)
  • Large businesses (over 250 staff)
  • Multinational businesses
  • Business journalists
  • Trade bodies
  • Legal representative
  • Medium business (50 to 250 staff)
  • Micro business (up to 9 staff)
  • Small business (10 to 49 staff)
  • Oil and Gas
  • Wind
  • Nuclear
  • Coal
  • Wave and tidal
  • Low carbon technologies
  • Construction
  • Investment
  • Manufacturing
  • Retail
  • Technology (R&D)
  • Property
  • Finance
  • Installer
  • Energy assesor
  • Landlord


  • Business investment